Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Chester County's Grand Prix Bicycle Races Return This July

Next month marks the return of the week-long series of top-level bicycle races that attracts national and international cyclists to the downtown business districts of Chester County.
Credit: http://chescograndprix.com

The Chesco Grand Prix, run under the auspices of the non-profit Sport Cycling Foundation and organized by professional cycling event producers, is a series of downtown “Criterium” races for elite and professional cycling teams that travel the national bicycle racing circuit. Last year's inaugural nine race series drew some 1,500 cyclists, over ten thousand spectators, and featured racers from 15 states, Canada, Germany and the Netherlands.

Confirmed dates and host venues of the 2013 Chesco Grand Prix are:
  • Thursday, July 4: Chesco Road Races and holiday BBQ (Unionville) 8 AM – 3 PM
  • Sunday, July 7: Third annual Coatesville Classic 2-7 PM
  • Monday, July 8: Malvern Criteriums 5-9 PM
  • Tuesday, July 9: Parkesburg Criteriums 5-9 PM
  • Wednesday, July 10: Eagle Criteriums 5-9 PM
  • Thursday, July 11: Phoenixville Criteriums 5-9 PM
  • Friday, July 12: Oxford Criteriums 5-9 PM
  • Saturday, July 13: Kennett Square Criteriums/Series Final 3-9 PM
  • Sunday, July 14: Kinetic Chesco Tour non-competitive ride throughout Chester County starting and finishing in Eagle
The races from July 4th to July 13th are sanctioned by USA Cycling and are for licensed racers in different age and ability categories. Each of the downtown events will also feature short races for local kids, music, professional announcing, expo booths and more.

For daily schedules, courses, participant information, how to become a volunteer and more are posted on the CGP website: www.chescograndprix.com

[Note: text above adapted from http://chescograndprix.com/]